top of page
Lamu: Service


The Lamu Archipelago is situated 340 kms northeast of Mombasa. The largest of the islands are Pate Island, Manda Island and Lamu Island. Smaller islands include Kiwayu, which lies in the Kiunga Marine National Reserve, and Manda Toto. Today the largest town in the archipelago is Lamu Town, on Lamu Island, which is classified on the World Heritage List.

Unlike other Swahili settlements which have been abandoned along the East African coast, Lamu has continuously been inhabited for over 700 years, which makes it exceptionally historical. The town is mainly known for the architecture of the Old Town, the Fort on the seafront, the 23 mosques, including the Riyadha Mosque, and a donkey sanctuary.

bottom of page